Advisor Recognition

Page Top Image: 

The Recognition Committee of the University Academic Advising Council (UAAC) administers an annual awards program designed to recognize excellence in academic advising. The Recognition Committee, Co-Chaired by Lyn Duran, Director of Academic Advising and Student Services in the College of Social and Humanities, and Nancy Rodriguez-Lorta, Associate Director of Orientation, Advising and Retention in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, is comprised of faculty, staff and student representatives.  While colleagues and supervisors can nominate an advisor for recognition, the majority of nominations are from students. Information about the nomination process is available here.

Since 2008 the advising portfolios of the UA award recipients have been submitted to the annual National Academic Advising Association's advising awards program.  Each year at least one of the UA advisors has been recognized at the national level for excellence in advising.

2015-2016 UA Outstanding Advisors

Dr. Tom Wilson
Associate Professor of Practice
Department of Soil / Water and Environmental Science
College of Arigulture and Life Sciences

Julie Christina Garcia
Senior Academic Advisor
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Jackie Rindone
Academic Advisor
College of Letters, Arts and Science


Previous Award Recipients